Election Commission may delist 200 political parties 

  • Published in Nation

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has identified nearly 200 political parties that exist mostly on paper and it is all set to delist such parties.

According to reports, the poll panel will soon write to the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) informing it about its decision.

The Election Commission has said that it will also ask the Income Tax authorities to look into the finances of such parties that have not contested elections since 2005. 


The poll panel believes that most of them exist on papers to help people convert their back money into white by accepting donations. 

In the next few days, the Commission will send the list of the delisted parties to the income tax authorities seeking action against relevant laws if they are found to be involved in money laundering. 

While the poll watchdog has the mandate to register a political party, it lacks power under electoral laws to deregister any party. 

As its demand to get power to deregister a party is pending with the Law Ministry, the Commission used its powers under Article 324 of the Constitution to delist parties for being dormant and not contesting elections for a long time. 

There are over 1780 registered, but unrecognised political parties in the country. Besides, there are seven national parties -- BJP, Congress, BSP, TMC, CPI, CMI-M and NCP -- and 58 state parties. 

Seeking to stem flow of black money in elections, the Commission has proposed a slew of electoral reforms but most are pending with the government.


Tagged under Election Commission